Anne Searls De Groot, MD'83

Anne Searls De Groot, MD’83
2018 Distinguished Service Award Recipient

Chief Executive Officer/Chief Scientific Officer,
EpiVax, Inc.

Director and Professor,
Institute for Immunology and Informatics,
College of the Environment and Life Sciences,
University of Rhode Island

Internationally known for her research on mapping the immune system using computer algorithms, Anne Searls De Groot, MD’83, has advocated for a “genomes-to-vaccines” approach to solving some of the world’s biggest infectious disease problems, while dedicating her medical skills to expanding access to health care. She is the founder of the Global Alliance to Immunize against AIDS (GAIA) Vaccine Foundation, which collaborates with clinics and laboratories in Mali, West Africa, and is one of the founding members of Clinica Esperanza/Hope Clinic, a community health center that offers free medical care and preventive health services to uninsured Rhode Island residents.

After completing her residency in internal medicine at New England Medical Center, De Groot trained in immunoinformatics and vaccinology at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) before returning to New England Medical Center for clinical training in infectious disease. De Groot is now chief executive officer and chief scientific officer of EpiVax, Inc, a specialized biotech company that holds the exclusive license to the EpiMatrix vaccine design technology. She also serves as director and research professor at the Institute for Immunology and Informatics at the University of Rhode Island.

De Groot is the recipient of numerous awards, including the NFID-Eli Lilly Award, a Commercial Innovation Award from the Slater Biomedical Foundation, a Genius Award in Science and Technology from Esquire Magazine, the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Providence Business News Business Women Awards, the 2006 Rhode Island Woman Physician of the Year, and the Dr. Alvan Fisher Medical Service Award from AIDS Project Rhode Island. In 2014, she was recognized as one of the 50 most influential people in vaccinology.

She is the author of more than 200 peer-reviewed publications, holds more than 40 patents, and has received more than $32.5 million in NIH funding.

View 2018 DSA recipients
  Learn more about the DSA