Holly J. Humphrey, MD’83

Holly J. Humphrey, MD83
2018 Distinguished Service Award Recipient

Ralph W. Gerard Professor in Medicine,
Dean for Medical Education,
University of Chicago

Holly J. Humphrey, MD’83, began her career at University of Chicago, completing her internal medicine residency, pulmonary and critical care fellowship, and chief residency before becoming the director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program.

In her role as dean, Humphrey oversees undergraduate, graduate, and continuing medical education. She has launched numerous programs, including the Roadmap to Professionalism and The Pritzker Initiative: A Curriculum for the 21st Century. Her vision for medical education as a discipline worthy of scholarship led to the creation of the Medical Education Research, Innovation, Teaching, and Scholarship (MERITS) fellowship program in medical education open to residents, nurses, and faculty.

Humphrey is responsible for establishing the Pritzker Advising and Mentoring Societies to support students, and the Academy of Distinguished Medical Educators to support faculty. She is the co-founder of the Bowman Society, which explores issues of health care disparities and provides mentoring for minority students, residents, and faculty. She has overseen the development of new pipeline programs for under-represented minority students interested in careers in medicine.

Humphrey serves on the Board of Directors for Alpha Omega Alpha, the Bucksbaum Institute for Clinical Excellence, and is chair of the Board of Directors for the Kaiser Permanente School of Medicine. She is chair emeritus of the American Board of Internal Medicine, immediate past chair of the American Board of Internal Medicine Foundation, past president of the Association of Program Directors in Internal Medicine (APDIM), and a member of the Gold Foundation’s Research Institute. Her awards and honors are many, and include the Dema C. Daley Founders Award from APDIM and selection as a Master by the American College of Physicians. Crain’s Chicago Business featured her as one of their “Women to Watch” and the YWCA of Metropolitan Chicago honored her with their Outstanding Leader Award in the Professions. Her teaching honors and awards include her selection by graduating students 26 times as a favorite faculty teacher.

View 2018 DSA recipients
  Learn more about the DSA